HM Revenue & Customs (HMRC) take online security very seriously. Here are just some of the measures they take to protect you and your data.
HMRC Online Services are only available to customers who register their details. Every time you log in, you must enter your User ID and password before you can access your services.
If you've forgotten to log out of your online service HMRC take care of this for you. After 15 minutes of inactivity you will be automatically logged out.
Note: When finally leaving the HMRC website, it is good practice to close your internet browser.
HMRC uses firewall protection as a very effective high security barrier around its systems and your data. This detects any attempts at unauthorised entry.
Any page of the HMRC website which contains sensitive information is protected by a technology known as SSL (Secure Sockets Layer). This encrypts the data you send to HMRC via the internet. When you log in to their online services you are always protected - and this is shown by the padlock in the bottom right hand corner of your internet browser.
HMRC continually monitor their security measures and update and enhance them as necessary.
As an additional security measure HMRC shows the date and time that you last logged in to or online services. This is displayed once you have entered your User ID and password. If you believe the details displayed are incorrect it is important that you report the matter to our Online Services Helpdesk immediately.