Areas of the library:
  • Taxonomies accepted by HM Revenue and Customs

Taxonomies accepted by HM Revenue and Customs

From 1 April 2011 all Company Tax Returns for accounting periods ended after 31 March 2010 must be submitted online using the Inline eXtensible Business Reporting Language (iXBRL) data standard for accounts and computations. This means that data in the accounts and computations must be tagged. The 'tags' come from the appropriate taxonomy, with the required level of tagging determined by 'Minimum Tagging Lists' - one for each UK taxonomy - that HM Revenue & Customs (HMRC) has published.

Taxonomies are updated periodically to reflect changes to legislation, accounting standards and so on. To find out more about when you should use a particular version of a taxonomy follow the links below.

UK taxonomies accepted by HMRC

Corporation Tax computational taxonomy (PDF 16K)

UK Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP) taxonomy (PDF 16K)

UK International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) taxonomy (PDF 16K)

Non-UK taxonomies

If you prepare accounts by reference to a non-UK accounting standard please follow the link below to find out more. At the present time, HMRC will only accept accounts tagged using a non-UK taxonomy where that taxonomy is US (United States) GAAP 2009, US (United States) GAAP 2011 and US (United States) GAAP 2012. However, additional taxonomies may be added later.

Non-UK taxonomies recognised by HM Revenue & Customs (PDF 26K)